Taking Time to Stop

I was a bit worried about the 8 mile run today.  It is the furthest I have run in a very long time and I wasn’t quite sure how my legs would hold up.  Luckily, I did pretty well!  My average pace didn’t drop too much (according to my Nike+) and I felt good throughout the run.  The legs are a little sore now, but they definitely held up along the way.

Deer

I was running along the Green Circle Trail (a 24 mile trail in Stevens Point & Plover) and was able to see some new parts of it because of the longer run.  While in one wooded area, a deer jumped out onto the trail and stared at me.  I stopped and we looked at each other for about a minute.  Then she huffed loudly and ran away.  And I continued on the run.  What is nice about the trail is that it is mostly mulched – so it’s easier on the feet and knees.  I get to “rest” the next two days and begin again on Monday.  1 week down – 10 more to go!

 

Friday’s Run: 8 miles/1:18:45/9:49 avg min/mi

Leave a comment